Skip to content

Active directory user msExchELCMailboxFlags attributes shows if in Exchange 2010 retention hold is enabled

2011/07/14
Exchange stores the interesting parameters of the mailbox in the Active Directory user object. To lookup if the Exchange retentionholdenabled flag is set or the litigationhold is enabled you only need the correct attribute of the AD user object.
Selecting the users from AD is often much faster than running a query in powershell on Exchange, specially when you are dealing with remote sessions.
To find the information which field contains google for AD schema definition + Exchange, the fieldname or something similar. although I knew the attribute name I wasn’t able to find anything on the  content. But a nice person and helpful soul, brought the redemption and provided the info to me. So I think this information might also be useful to someone else. The attribute is a bitfield:
Attribute
Description

msExchELCMailboxFlags

                                   None 00000000

   ExpirationSuspended 00000001

                 ElcV2 00000010

DisableCalendarLogging 00000100

        LitigationHold 00001000

    SingleItemRecovery 00010000

  ValidArchiveDatabase 00100000

From → Exchange, Retention

7 Comments
  1. Hi there, after reading this remarkable piece of writing i am also happy to
    share my know-how here with friends.

  2. Good day I am so delighted I found your blog, I really found you by error, while I was searching on Aol for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would
    just like to say kudos for a tremendous post and a all round enjoyable
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have saved it and also included
    your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please
    do keep up the great b.

  3. I’m gone to tell my little brother, that he should also visit this blog on regular basis
    to take updated from newest reports.

  4. Very rapidly this site will be famous among all blogging viewers,
    due to it’s good articles

  5. Thanks for the info. And a response from you. car dealers hips san jose

  6. I’m not sure where yߋu’re еtting your info, but good
    topіc. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for fɑntаstic info I was looking for this information for my miѕsion.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Enabling Legal Hold on Exchange 2010 | Thoughts of a Distracted Mind

Leave a Reply

