Skip to content

Arduino as ISP

2010/03/20

Motivation

The last days my serial programmer stoped working, just when I was going to programm a mega8 that should be the heart of  a new USBisp programming device.  This cause a bad situation. I needed to program the mega 8 to get a working programmer. After some tries of fixing the serial programmer issue without luck remembered that I read sometime ago about making a ISP programmer using an Arduino board. Because I got a Arduino Duemilanove as a present, I thought that would be a good idea to use it to pull me out of this.

I used WINAVR and Amtel AVr Studio and PonyProg before. I had to find out what new tools I would need.

An Arduino software that would make the Duemilanove an ISP programmer

A programming software that allows to use the Arduino as a programmer

For the first I found that starting with  version 0018  the Arduino development software contains the mega-isp in the examples directory. Its name there is ArduinoISP. This was a great discovery after surfing several websites.

The second is a challange ecause I used formerly PonyProg or a JTAG debugger which is functional with devices that have a mathcing interface (like mega16, mega32). What I found out fast is that AVRDUDE seems to be the solution. But I spend a long time to find a windows binary distribution of the linux based project. The solution is that there is allways a current, compiled version in the WinAVR packet. I didn’t knew that because although having WinAVR installted and using it as C-compiler, I always run Amtels WinAVR Studio as a IDE and flashed the devices with an external exe. But AVRDUDE is the tool for the future that will also supports the USBisp interface I’m going to build finaly.

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Setting it up « Just tinkering Blog

Leave a Reply

